How do you relax?

When I was in fifth grade, my teacher told the class she was going to teach us how to quill as part of our art curriculum.  I had no idea what quilling was, but I was a little nervous because I’m not artistic.  We soon learned that quilling involved rolling very thin strips of paper to make designs, and I soon learned that I loved it.  Although I didn’t continue quilling after the school year was over, I always remembered how much I enjoyed it.

A few years ago, I was going through a stressful time, and I searched for something that would help me relax.  When I came across an article that mentioned quilling, I thought about how much I had enjoyed it all those years ago.  I bought some supplies, but I was worried that I wouldn’t remember how to quill.  To my surprise, it all came right back to me.  I enjoy this craft so much, and I have enjoyed sharing the results with friends and family.

I still can’t draw or paint, but I found an art/craft I really enjoy. quilled buffalo

Fifth grade was a long time ago, but this lesson will stay with me forever.

How do you relax?  I’d love to hear about it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do you relax?

  1. Ellen Frost says:

    i love this post! i too am not artsty but I do remember quilling as something that calmed my mind and kept me engaged. Thank god for Sister Ermina!

Leave a Reply

