Is it true that you never forget how to ride a bike?

0509141501a,jpg

A few weeks ago my daughter, M., begged me to get a bike so I could ride with her.  My first thought?  I haven’t been on a bike in about fifteen years.  Yikes!

I was worried that I wouldn’t remember how to ride a bike, but I couldn’t pass up this opportunity to have fun and exercise together, so I began scouring craigslist.  When I found a great bike for an amazing price, I took a giant step closer to my maiden voyage.  Gulp.

“Safety first” is my constant refrain to her, so my next step was to buy a helmet.  I found one last night, and my husband pumped up the tires to make sure the bike was ready.  Uh-oh.

This morning was gorgeous, so M. decided to ride her bike to school.  I thought today was as good a day as any to get back in the proverbial saddle, so I joined her.  I was a little nervous at first, but it came back right away.  Isn’t it funny how that works?

We really enjoyed the ride to school, and I’m sure it will be the first of many.  I’m so glad my girl persuaded me to do this.  Yes, it is true: you never forget how to ride a bike!

(Yes, that is my thumb in the corner of the picture.  I’m not a photographer; I leave that to my brother, John.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

